VAIO Z flip

 VAIO Z flip
Rating

1 Item(s)

10  Review(s)
D
June 16, 2017
Is it with light sensor ?
Everything is perfect but my Vaio z flip 16/256 G seems don't have light sensor ... I have a Asus , when I turned off the light . The key board back light turns on immediately and the screen dimmed . But in the meanwhile ; My Vao Z flip did nothing . I've enabled the adaptive brightness in power options panel . I've also enabled display power saving technology in Intel Graphics panel
S
June 12, 2017
Highly Recommend
I've been using Vaio computers for over 12 years and typically upgrade on a 3 year cycle. I wait 1 year for a new model to work out the software kinks. I just bought the Vaio Z Flip having patiently waited out the year and couldn't be happier. The first thing you notice is the build quality, clearly this is a big part of the price. Vaio Z models always were a top line construction build, so with the latest carbon fiber material, this latest is fantastic -- it feels both solid and luxurious. The physical mechanism transition between laptop to tablet to presentation panel is strong and smooth, they nailed that one, which was a must and a problem for most hybrids in the past. I went with the i7 /256gb model. It screams is all I can say. I chose to update all of the drivers (about 10 drivers and a BIOS update) as recommended and the just released Windows 10 Creator edition is now a perfect match for this hybrid device. The screen is bright and sharp. The keyboard is a pleasure to use as is the trackpad (there is an extra large right shift key, yeah! which has been a painful oversight on many Sony keyboards). The USB 3.0 has one charge and one super speed. Why this model? I'm a big fan of touchscreen. I would find it very hard to go back to a non-touchscreen laptop as I often work between the two input methods. I also really like the flip presentation mode for watching movies and for presenting material. Probably my biggest complaint is the still modest selection of Windows apps, but this is a Microsoft complaint / eco-system and not Vaio. The lack of good apps limits the time in tablet mode and I know that I will still need to use my Android tablet. Minor feedback would be a pen clip when in laptop mode. I also miss the Vaio Control Center software that was part of previous Sony laptops. I don't need bloat, but that is a good piece of software. I also was suprised that NFC was not included in the hardware, as I do use that feature with many other devices. This is a very well-built laptop/tablet with super specs. I'm a happy customer.
S
March 16, 2017
Almost Better
I've been using it since it was lunched in Japan so far I have never met anyone has it back home, it is a good machine thank to Sony but sometimes the heat got up and the mouse stops moving. enjoying it though
L
March 15, 2017
Almost perfect
My brother got his first Sony Vaio Z many years back. Following him being happy, I bought my Sony Vaio Z in 2012 (now he's using it). Incredible machines, both of them. Naturally, I would replace my Sony Vaio Z with another Vaio (I was also using a Surface Pro 3 for notes and drawings). Being from Europe, I had to go through all sorts of arrangements so I can buy my Vaio Z flip 16 GB / 512 GB SSD at one of my trips to the USA. Less ports than my previous Vaio, much more powerful, a little more heavy, very good battery life, amazing stylus (same technology but better than my 2 Surface Pro 3 styluses). Super fast machine, super quiet machine if you use it properly (ie normal day use without me pushing CPU to its limits). My last Sony Vaio Z could read 1GB/s on the SSD, this one has more than doubled that speed. The machine is FAST, elegant, very good overall. You pay the price for it but for me it's the best machine money can buy overall. I have some Windows issue with wake up from hibernation and a driven crashing but I'm sure it will be sorted out. After 3 years, my next computer will also be a Vaio Z
C
February 17, 2017
Close to perfect
I bought VAIO Z Flip on Christmas 2016 online via the Microsoft Store (MS) and have been using it for a few months. I had been eyeing the Z Flip since it was launched last year. Fortunately, on Christmas MS had discounted $500 off the i7/8GB Ram/256GB SSD model lowering it to $1,500. Buyers please note that even though MS is an authorized retailer, they removed certain things. For example, in December VAIO was giving the laptop with a free bag, that was not included. Additionally, MS also removed the $40 Wireless Router (USB Ethernet cable aka LAN adapter). On to the review: I love this machine, I was reluctant to buy a 13.3" screen. I prefer portability however 13" seemed too small. I currently own a Sony VAIO 14" E Series which was my main machine. 14" to me is just the right size, however after using the 13.3" I am fairly comfortable with it. I actually prefer it over my old E series as the brightness and resolution make up for the .7 lost inches. Though sometimes I wish it was 14". The touch screen is more responsive than any other touch screen laptop I have used (the list includes Toshiba, HP, Lenova and off course my old Sony Vaio E Series). First complaint, Z Flip ships with an incredible digital stylus (pen). You are also provided an alternate tip for fine art. I really enjoyed using the stylus however I was disappointed that there was no clip-on, or any form of accommodation made for the pen. Unlike the Z Canvas you are expected to carry the pen externally. As typical with pens in my pocket, I lost it. It was incredibly frustrating cause it costs $60 and the main reason why I have deducted a star from the rating. The Z flip was originally introduced by Sony as VAIO Flip back in 2013. Vaio relaunched it as Z flip in 2016 making it smaller and faster but it is really unfortunate that it does not have a clip for the stylus, especially since the Z Canvas has it. What's worse is that a clip or snap on isn't even sold in VAIO store. It's not cool to engage in a DIY project for a $2000 machine. Next, we have the sleek backlit keyboard a feature that is present in all high end Laptops. But I will only compare it to the MacBook Pro and my old Sony Vaio. The travel distance in the keys is reduced. It is better than a MacBook Pro but not as good as the E series. I supposed it is a price to pay for having silent keys. Let's talk about the battery. It is advertised as 11.30 minutes hour battery. It isn't. I reached out to VAIO and Joe informed me you must reduce the laptop brightness to a minimum and not do anything on the machine :/ and then you will get 11.30 hours :/ I don't fault Vaio for this false advertising industry trend but it is total bull shit. Additionally, the battery sensor is defective. My battery goes from 100% to 80% in less than 5 minutes on lowest brightness without using it. Marcus from customer support made me run some tests and informed me I would have to do a system restore to fix that problem and I opted out. I just finished installing everything and I did not want to engage in such a tedious set up. My battery is fine. It gives me about 2 - 4 hours depending on my usage. The first 20% just drains at sonic speed. Last complaint and this one is a general complaint against VAIOis that all their machines ship with different chargers at different volts. Sony VAIO machines had universal chargers. Apple machines have the same charger for phone and laptops. VAIO can't have one for all their Laptops? On the flip side, the charger has this awesome clip off thing incase you accidentally pull the wire the charger would come out instead of you dragging your machine along with the charging cable. In conclusion, the machine has a fantastic bright hi-res touch screen, super fast processing speed, silent backlit keyboard on the other hand the battery isn't as advertised, it is no longer compatible with the Sony charger or any other Vaio charger for that matter and lastly their should have been a clip on accessory for the stylus. 4 out of 5.
S
February 8, 2017
Stylish, Yet Powerful - 512 GB model
I've been in love with this 2-in-1 since I took it out of the box. At first glance, you can see, and feel, that the Z-flip is made out of good quality material. Most of my colleagues and friends that see me with this complement on how nice it looks...and that's before I flip it into tablet mode! About the table functionality....it is a great experience. As a scientists, I have to make figures quite often for presentations, and this thing-of-beauty allows me to make these seamlessly. Performance-wise, this thing has been able to handle any task I throw at it (dealing with big sets of data mostly), and the screen is beautiful. The keyboard is also great, feels good. Bought a protector for it...but might just get rid of it since it takes away from the ergonomic feel (I guess I'll just wash my hands more often haha). One small drawback is that the screen is quite glossy, so sometimes it's can be difficult to see if you're staring at your screen right next to a window on a bright sunny day. Highly recommend it! Great job VAIO!!! Now time to find a nice VAIO carrying bag ;)
R
December 10, 2016
The Beauty and the Beast
This laptop is awesome. I have been using it for a week now and I am in love with this device. The hinge mechanism is sturdier than it looks. Battery life is decent and the tablet mode is handier than I had imagined it would be.
S
December 8, 2016
Devine
I absolutely love my new VaioZ Flip. So light weight easy to use and thin. My only issue and I will get used to it is it is stiff to open. Now to look for a screen protector.
L
November 14, 2016
Excellent
The Vaio Z (flip) i7 with Windows 10 Pro is a well rounded laptop/tablet. I've been using it for about 1 month and have put it to heavy usage; from video design, intense graphics, software compilation, heavy data base and document editing and browsing the internet with way too many programs running in the background and yet the Z has been very stable and fast. Windows in tablet mode may make users pull their hair (I found it so frustrating at first and I ended up restarting the Vaio Z a few times, but this was actually a windows related issue and not with my Vaio). The Z is sturdier than it looks like. Its hinge mechanism works very well. The screen is gorgeous. The keyboard is very smooth (although I have purchased a silicon screen cover because I am afraid I will stain the keys with finger oil). I recommend this machine if you are looking for a distinguished, multi-function (laptop+tablet). I am extremely satisfied with the screen response (particularly writing with the stencil). Battery life is more than adequate for me (I run 10-hour workdays without a charger). This is an awesome laptop.
H
October 28, 2016
Absolute Masterpiece
I have the Vaio Z flip i7 that my daughter brought from the USA to me (in Germany), and I do not regret a single day. Have previously worked on a Microsoft Surface Pro 4 i7, a great laptop, but the Vaio Z flip i7 is still a rank better. Working for several weeks on the device and everything runs smoothly! Super good display, superfast WiFi, working with 3D design programs and it is swift as an arrow. From the design, we need not speak, there is no better laptop on the market! The performance is unique! Absolute buy recommendation !!! * translated